How the dead printer of MPV got its life back and the story of its Saviour

At that time we had tried everything possible to make it work. We were about to give up on it and this happened.

 Death of the Printer

 Around two years back one my friends was shutting down his company and he asked us if we could buy some of his company assets. He showed us a lot of good things like conference tables,UPS,batteries,chairs, computers and then he showed us this beautiful all-in-one HP printer. He had brought it from Germany.It could print colors, scan documents, send fax and much more. He offered it for a very low price and we instantly decided to buy it from him as we did not have a color printer then.

 We brought the printer to our office, along with all the other things that we bought from him. Personally, I was very excited about that printer as I thought that it was going to solve a lot of our printing problems. All excited, we installed it in one of our computers to test . We gave a print command and the printer responded by pulling in a paper – and the paper never came out! The printer got stuck and it never worked after that.

 Though it sounds silly, this incident kept disturbing my mind. I felt helpless about the printer. I didn’t know why, whenever I saw the printer, it connected me with various moments of my life where I had felt the same helplessness. Somehow,  deep inside I knew that I should do something for this printer. We tried to repair it by all means. We even sent it to HP care and they said that the printer was dead, we had to scrap it. It was working just a day before in my friend’s office and in our office, it died!

 The Saviour

 At the time we had tried everything possible to make it work. We were about to give up on it and this happened. As a last attempt I posted the need of printer repair on FB.I thought no one was going to reply, as it might not be important to them. A notification popped as if it was only waiting for me to hit the post button. One of my friends gave me this guy’s contact.

 The guy came, investigated the printer and said this could be repaired. He was very young and I knew he was talking out of curiosity. I was judging him by his looks and thought he was not going to do it. But he was very professional in his approach. He said he was starting a new computer service shop and I was his first customer. He said he would do anything to repair our printer. As I had no other options, I decided to trust him and give the printer to him. When I was about to say, “Take the printer and make it work”, he handed over his driving licence and said,  “Give this back to me once the printer works.”

 I was truly surprised with his professionalism, his care for the customer and his confidence. I saw him as an entrepreneur. He was very inspiring to me. He called me every day and updated me about the progress, as he correctly guessed that I did not completely believe him. Three days later, he came with the printer and it worked partially! I was extremely happy to see the printer moving. He said that he needed to buy a few spare parts to make it work completely, which may take at least another month for him. I gave him the money to buy spare parts and decided to wait till he got back.

 One day,when I was sitting in my office sending emails to clients, thinking about the sales targets, worried about the payments to be done, this guy came knocking my door with a broad smile on his face and showed me a thumbs up. I was so happy to see him. I knew that he had made it work.I still remember the energy it gave me on that dry day. We took a print and it was perfect! We all felt very happy. I felt very relieved and my mind was completely filled with happiness.

Good Printer
Dhinakaran

 Now this printer has become a symbol of hope to me.The printer repair guy has become a model of the true spirit of entrepreneurship. Entrepreneurship is not about making business it’s about changing the lives of people.From now on,  whenever I feel helpless, this printer will tell its story and it will show that ray of hope.

His name : Dhinakaran

His Phone number : +919524979181 or +918807378838

Leave a comment